FeaturedFord Talladeganascar race carRace Cars and Drivers

1969 Daytona 500 Winning Trophy

Most of us dream about our cars on the race tracks back in 1969-70. Some of us even wonder what it would be like to run one of those real race cars around the track. When we are lucky enough to actually take our cars on a parade lap around a historic track it is a memorable moment but a fleeting experience that last far too short. One of our Team Members has real routes in NASCAR and has recently acquired a real treasure from back in the day.

Marty Burke recently sent me the following note and photos. I think it is only fitting that I share it with all of you.

Marty says:

“I just procured a cool piece of Ford racing history.

When you win the Daytona 500 the driver gets the Harley Earl trophy. The car owner gets the Governors Cup & the winning crew chief gets the Cannonball Baker Cup. In 1969 the 500 was one by LeeRoy Yarbrough, in the superspeedway debut of the Talladega.

Herb Nab was the winning crew chief and thus got the Baker trophy. Herb passed away in 1988 and alot of his possessions were sold off.

The Baker trophy floated around the Carolina’s. Thanks to a Fairlane Club member who knew the gentleman who last possessed the trophy and wanted to sell it; that trophy now resides in the Burke household. It needs a little work, but I should be able to return it to its 1969 luster. I am very excited to have this cool piece of history.”

Who is Herb Nab?

Herbert “Herb” Nab

Born: April 1, 1927 in Frueto, CO. Died October 29, 1988 in Concord, NC.

Herbert “Herb” Nab was born April 1st, 1927 in Frueto, CO., and died October 29th, 1988 in Concord, NC. He was buried in Carolina Memorial Park.

Nab came from Portland, Oregon and moved east with with NASCAR west coast driver Bill Amick when Amick got a ride with Ford.
A squat figure, who usually was hanging over the fender of a stock car, Herb Nab helped several of NASCAR’s top teams find success.

Nab’s first measure of fame was to come in Ford Motor Company’s factory-backed Holman-Moody team of the 1960s. Nab led driver Fred Lorenzen to NASCAR’s first $100,000 season in 1963.

He later moved to Junior Johnson’s operation where Nab’s expertise helped Cale Yarborough win two of his three consecutive NASCAR championships in 1976 and 1977, plus the Daytona 500 in 1977.

Nab was the winning Crew Chief for the 1969 Daytona 500 with Leeroy Yarborough and the 1977 Daytona 500 with Cale Yarbrough.

The above information was supplied by LegendsofNascar.com.


Some of my first and strongest memories from my childhood relate to cars. I still remember when things happened based on what car I was driving at the time. I grew up and lived in Iowa for nearly 40 years before moving to Southern California and now live in Tennessee. I was a Corvette fanatic for years but then re-discovered vintage American Muscle. My wife, Katrina, and I decided we wanted to focus on unique and rare muscle cars. After a lot of research we fell in love with the Ford Blue Oval Aero Cars. These were only built in 1969 and and aerodynamics became an important part of winning races. The only purpose of these limited production cars was to win NASCAR races using the Boss 429 and 427 power plants complimented with a special, wind cheating, aerodynamic body. The Ford Talladega and Mercury Cyclone Spoiler II are terrific and historic cars. This site is devoted to these car and their owners past and present. We provide an Online Registry for recording the long term history and ownership of every remaining Talladega, Spoiler and Spoiler II.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also
Back to top button